Main Structure

There are 2 main types of services that you can get after getting success in the exam. The first one is All India Services, then the Central Civil Services. The last one is divided into two groups; Group A Services and the Group B services.

All India Services

•    Indian Administrative Services

•    Indian Police Services

•    Indian Forest Services

Group A Services

•    Indian Foreign Service

•    Indian P & T Accounts & Finance Service

•    Indian Audit and Accounts Service

•    Indian Revenue Service (Customs and Central Excise)

•    Indian Defense Accounts Service

•    Indian Revenue Service (I.T.)

•    Indian Ordnance Factories Service (Assistant Works Manager, Administration)

•    Indian Postal Service

•    Indian Civil Accounts Service

•    Indian Railway Traffic Service

•    Indian Railway Accounts Service

•    Indian Railway Personnel Service

•    Post of Assistant Security Commissioner in Railway Protection Force

•    Indian Defense Estates Service

•    Indian Information Service (Junior Grade)

•    Indian Corporate Law Service

Group B Services

•    Armed Forces Headquarters Civil Service (Section Officer's Grade)

•    Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Civil Service

•    Delhi, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Lakshadweep, Daman & Diu and Dadra & Nagar Haveli Police Service

•    Pondicherry Civil Service

•    Pondicherry Police Service

The Head Of The Civil Service   

The highest rank of this service is the Cabinet Secretary. The person who holds this position is the ex-officio Chairman of the Civil Services Board as well as the head of the Indian Administrative Service. He is the chief of all civil services of India under the rules of business of the Government of India. The Cabinet Secretary also holds the 11th position in the Order of Precedence of India.

There are state or provincial civil services. The examinations and recruitments are conducted for these positions by the individual states of India.